A Tedious Project and Pork Roast with Potatoes and Carrots

Okay,  you know what it is like to face a big project and think you will NEVER get it done!  I have one of those projects going now.  I have a collection of family photos hanging in my hallway that have been there for years.  Some of them are not even very good pictures of folks…especially those school pictures of my daughters that were hung at the time they were taken.  (You girls know which ones I am talking about…you are much more beautiful than that!)

Anyway, during my last tedious project (stripping the wallpaper in the master bedroom and repainting…which expanded to painting the hall…which expanded into painting the dining room, sitting room and kitchen.  We call that the domino effect.)  I took down all the pictures and decided to rehang some family pictures that I really like only in similar frames and printing them all in sepia tones.  Easier said then done.  Especially since I am matting all the pictures and have to custom cut each mat.

For that reason,  I am using the Flylady Method.  (Have you heard of Flylady?  If not, Google it.  She has a great way of organizing your life.)  One of her tenets is that you can do anything for 15 minutes!  So break the task down into 15 minute segments.  It is often amazing how much you can accomplish in 15 minutes and you are not intimidated to start because,  after all, you are just going to have to work on it for 15 minutes!

Here is the project as it is now.

Some favorite family photos in sepia tones.

Only about 20 more to go…

This is the one day a week that we have beef or pork for dinner.  Last night, The Bearded One chose a beef stir fry as the meal of the week but today he changed to pork roast.  I had a small roast cut from the end of a tenderloin in the freezer.  (I but whole tenderloins when they are on sale and cut them into chops and roasts.)  I cooked it and added roasted potatoes and carrots.  Details in the recipe section.  It was great!  Meat moist and falling off the bone…oh, wait, there are not bones.  Leftovers will make great pulled pork sandwiches.

Pork Roast with roasted vegetables

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Tedious Project and Pork Roast with Potatoes and Carrots

  1. We had Pot Roast last night–similar meal, however I did it in the 15 minute organized segment (even though I have never heard of the “Fly Lady”). Since I worked at the store until 6:30 (on a Sunday no less) and often work late–quick and easy meals have become my forte’. Something I have never tried—Pot Roast from Trader Joes (in the refrigerated meat section)–takes a few minutes in the microwave. Sides included iceberg wedge with blue cheese, roasted asparagus (99 cents a pound at Valli), and mashed cauliflower with gorgonzola (our new mashed potato)—-the roast was amazing in tenderness and flavor–I will definately prepare it again as well. A really tasty comfort meal at home watching the closing ceremonies of the Olympics. I think I might have Olympic withdrawal to contend with this week.

  2. Amy says:

    Mom, if I had known you were having pork roast last night I would have considered coming home with you for dinner, lol, this photo made me home-sick for your cooking!

    Alas, my “barcelona-prodded-lifestyle-eating-change” does not allow for potatoes, carrots, gravy, or probably pork roast… I could smell it cooking when I read your blog and thought of some very happy times.

    Meanwhile I had grilled salmon and spinach last night for dinner. Better for my BOTTOM-line but not as comforting.

  3. Katie says:

    The pictures are looking good. I’m still hoping you’ll inspire me to do the photos for our entryway. No luck yet! haha

Leave a Reply

