I am woman, hear me…uh, at least meow loudly…

The new granite for the countertop. 12x12 squares.

A busy day.  We picked up the granite tile for the new countertop with all the accoutrement for the installation.  A heavy load for being such a small project!  While we were out (have I mentioned that we live in a rural area?), we went a few more miles and stopped at Trader Joe’s.  Some other time I will have to talk about some of the wonders found at Trader Joe’s but for today, just may I say that they have good prices and a plethora of healthy and interesting food choices.  The Bearded One has suggested that we make a stop a TJ’s a more regular part of our travels.

Later in the day, I began demolition on the old bathroom countertop.  I emptied the vanity, cleared the countertop, disconnected the water supply and the drain.  I took out the old sink and removed the old faucet.  I need to do some research on how to remove the old drain stopper unit but at least it is on the sink and the sink is in the staging area (previously known as the living room).

Then I started to remove the counter.  Ugh.  Ugh again but harder.   Hardest UGH!  Nothing.  It was glued down to the vanity in multiple places and if that was  not enough it was glued to wood strips bolted to the wall.   Despair!  The Bearded One was called in for a consult  (while he has pledged that he WILL NOT be actively part of this renovation he takes pity on me at times…).  He suggested using a jigsaw/reciprocating saw to cut the back of the counter to allow access to the rear of the countertop.  I did it…lord, imagine me and a reciprocating saw coexisting when the power is turned on.  Then with a putty knife and pry bar I convinced the countertop to begin a divorce with the vanity.  I must say though that whatever glue was used to marry these two should be bulk ordered by the folks in Haiti…I am sure it is earthquake proof!  Now the counter is gone and the vanity is moved against the wall.  Nice.  I can stand in front of the vanity and see myself in the mirror without leaning at a precarious angle over the countertop and peering…not a good look for a 58 year old woman.

The vanity moved against the wall in preparation for the new countertop.

So, the project is at the low point.  I hope.   Tomorrow, starting to install the substrate for the new countertop and starting to install the shelves at the right end of the vanity.  Hopefully, I will be able to talk The Bearded One into doing a bit of active consulting on nailing the boards together since hammers and I do not get along…

For dinner, a good one since I was working as contractor until 45 minutes before dinner…Garlic Panko Chicken Strips (see recipes), Corn on the Cob, and Spinach Salad.  The corn on the cob was frozen straight from the farm last summer.  We are trying to eat more leaves, so spinach in salad is a frequent flyer in our diet now.  The Chicken Strip recipe is a great one.  It is baked and tasty.  My Grandson who does not like meat much, loves them!

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

