Survival and Making Progress

Day two of actual work on the bathroom project.  I spent several hours in the middle of the night just rehearsing the work in my head…you know those 2 o’clock in the morning kind of thoughts?

I knew that I would be working until near dinnertime and them not want to think about fixing a meal so I decided to make a crockpot meal.  Nothing better at the end of the day than to find dinner ready!  The Bearded One had picked out some Italian Sausages made with chicken (who would have thought) at Trader Joe’s yesterday so made Melt-in-your-Mouth Sausages from the “Fix It and Forget It Diabetic Cookbook” (I highly recommend this cookbook, diabetic or not!)  (details in the Recipe section).

Melt-in-your-Mouth Sausages

It could be served with a side of pasta or as a sandwich.  I made some crusty rolls.

Homemade crusty rolls

And…at the end of the workday….dinner was ready.

Melt-in-your-Mouth Sausages on Hard Crusted Roll

For the main part of the day, I worked on the Bathroom Project.  I did some repair work on the old vanity and cleared the floor so it could be moved into its permanent position next to the wall.  Then I started installing the shelves at the right end of the vanity.  I had to fine tune the cuts, using a circular saw, a power miter saw, a drill, and a sander to get the boards into place.  It is in the bathroom that is in the addition closest to the 1910 addition to the house so nothing is level or plumb.  I had to make a trip to the hardware store in town to buy a second pack of shims.  But the bulk of the shelving section is done.  Tomorrow I work on putting the finishing work on the front of the unit so that no raw plywood shows.

A tiring day.   Hey, I did all the hammering myself!  The Bearded One just had to consult and find nails, screws and the occasional tool.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in renovation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

