Enough cookbooks already….but, no

Okay,  I have this thing about cookbooks.  I love the things.   Not the generic microwave cooking or diet cookbooks but generally, I love them all. ( I write in them when I try a recipe in pencil what I think of the recipe and how I would improve it in the future).  Here is my cookbook collection now.

There is room on this shelf because we elected to get rid of the aging stereo system and I quickly claimed the space for cookbooks!

Today, while making a visit to the nursery (cabbage plants, brussel sprouts, and herbs) we stopped at a thrift store (The Bearded One cannot pass a thrift store for book hunting).  He pointed out several cookbooks and I took this one for 99 cents.

Soups cookbook

It looked like an interesting addition to the collection.  Of course, I frequently get recipes from the internet and, frankly, one of the reasons I post recipes on this blog is so that I can access some of my favorites from wherever I am in the world.  Confession.  But, a good cookbook is a treasure.

We also went to Trader Joe’s and got a few regular items and a couple of new ones (tempeh and baked asian flavored tofu) to try some new recipes from another new cookbook (ordered to avoid shipping costs on Amazon)…Vegan Fire and Spice.  I will let you know how they turn out.

Today was Sunday…meat day.  We had Filets au Poivre again.  So good.  With corn on the cob frozen from last year’s garden and a spinach salad.  Nice.  The filets were about 3-4 oz.   Just enough to be a treat.


A bit more progress on Nana’s Flowers.  Tomorrow is Art Class so there should be a bigger jump then.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Enough cookbooks already….but, no

  1. Amy says:

    I have this cookbook problem also. Hubby often asks, when you gonna make something from this book? My favorite book right now is also vegan as I am doing a gluten-free vegan challenge 4/5-4/18 and am trying to be ready. One can do anything for two weeks! Your recipes are going into my lists 🙂

  2. Amy says:

    PS if you ever get a hankering for a delicious torte and cake… I see you have the Julie Child Baking book. The Milanese Torte is a common request from anyone who has ever had it when I ask what I should bring to a gathering. And I made the wedding cake once, for mom for mother’s day. It was one of the best cakes I have ever had…

  3. Retired woman says:

    I hope I can post a few more Vegan recipes for you. We are really enjoying the recipes and do not miss meat on those days at all! Good luck on your challenge…gluten free would probably be more of a challenge for me than meat-free.

  4. Amy says:

    Thanks. Any recipes you like I am willing to try. I got this Vegan-Gluten Free one today with very high recommendations, I am going to make it next week:

    Garbanzo Bean Creole

    3 tbsp Virgin Olive Oil
    1/2 cup chopped white onion
    1/2 cup chopped green onion
    1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
    1 26-oz. can Kroger Value Garlic & Herb Spaghetti Sauce (I am sure you can use whatever here as long as it is meat free)
    1 can Garbanzo Beans (drained and rinsed)
    1 tbsp Creole seasoning

    Prepared Quinoa Pasta or Brown Rice

    In medium sauce pan heat oil. Add in white onion, green onion and green bell pepper. Saute vegetables until translucent. Pour in spaghetti sauce, garbanzo beans and creole seasoning. Bring to boil, constantly stirring. Reduce heat and simmer 30 minutes. Serve over prepared pasta or brown rice.

Leave a Reply

