A dose of dietary reality, a disposal and is the colored pencil painting finished?

Art class today.  Next Monday is the last art class of this session.  I will not be able to participate next session since we will be traveling much of the time.  There are no classes in the summer so my next class will not be until the end of September.  Sad.

Here is Nana’s Flowers today.  I may be finished.  I am entertaining the possibility of some background shading particularly on the upper left….kind of vague reddish/brown foggy type thing fading out to nothing.  Any opinion?  Or should I leave it black?

Nana's Flowers: finished or a bit of background?

I stopped at Lowe’s on the way home to look at disposers.  Ours had developed a crack in the housing and was leaking occasionally.  Not good.  After watching multiple video how-to’s I thought I could replace the defective one, especially if I could find one with a electrical plug.  I am becoming more confident with plumbing but electrical things still worry me.  While looking at the possibilities, a clerk asked to help.  I told him what I was looking for.  He said none came with plugs but if I bought the disposer and the plug attachment made for it, he would put the two together…whoohoo.  Since when did these big boxes become so helpful.  First cutting my wood for the bathroom to size and now this!

So, I spent the afternoon installing the new disposer with a few consults from The Bearded One and a hand at one point, when I could not hold the unit and twist the flange at the same time.  It works, it doesn’t leak, it is BEAUTIFUL!

Beautiful, isn't it?

The Bearded One decided to give me a break from cooking today.  He picked up a couple of Marie Callendar dinners.

Uh...dinner...

I admit, I was glad not to have to cook after plumbing…BUT I feel REALLY SORRY for folks who have to eat that stuff on a regular basis!  Edible, most of it.  But nice of him to think of it.

(Oh, by the way.  He used to cook but there was a nickname for the concoction he typically made throwing alot of ingredients together.  It was affectionately known by a four letter nickname.  But it is the thought that counts, eh?)

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A dose of dietary reality, a disposal and is the colored pencil painting finished?

  1. Amanda says:

    I think I like Nana’s Flowers as is. I might be wrong because I might be envisioning it differently than you’re planning on doing it, but I like it without because it highlights the flowers. Background might detract a little? Right now it looks like they’re spotlighted.

  2. Retired woman says:

    My instructor was leaning in that direction also. Do you want the picture?

Leave a Reply

