Attitude Counts

Not a very eventful day.  Got the taxes mailed off (certified mail…I learned my lesson one year when I had to prove to the Feds that I had submitted my taxes…luckily I had sent them certified mail!  for the first time I might mention.)

Planted the herb pot for the trailer.  When we travel we carry the herb pot and put it outside when we camp to get sun.  You get spoiled having fresh herbs at home if you can’t have them when you travel.

Traveling herb pot

Another, more obvious, sign of spring out of kitchen window…

We had Vegan Hearty Stew and Irish Soda Bread for dinner.

Hearty Vegan Stew

Irish Soda Bread

While I liked both, The Bearded One appreciated the bread but rejected the stew.  The stew was made with the usual stew components but used tempeh instead of meat.  He ate a couple of bites and dumped the rest.  Ah, we all know how it feels to have put a meal together to have it dumped but hence my theme for today….attitude counts.  Deep breath.  Enjoy the meal.  It is not about me.  It is a difference in taste buds.  Tomorrow, Chicken Ala King.

Another example that I thought earlier in the day that I would talk about.  House Blessings.  I subscribe to Fly Lady, a house cleaning and organizational site on the internet.  I do not follow closely anymore, generally deleting the messages before reading them but she taught me a number of things.  One of them was to call the weekly house cleaning chore…House Blessing.  Somehow thinking of it as blessing your house and those in it makes it a more positive experience than just ANOTHER CHORE.   It does work…mostly.  I want to bless my home and I will spend the time giving it that blessing (although Mom would still want the cleaning to go deeper, no doubt).

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

