Blogging takes a backseat

Today was busy.  So busy, I forgot to even think about blogging until the end of the day.  We are getting ready for a trip so there was packing to do,  cleaning (my mom taught me to always make the house a clean one to come home to…actually she tried to teach me to make it clean period but that did not take.)  The Bearded One had a routine doctor’s appointment to which he wanted me to accompany him.  So the day filled up,  with no pictures taken until, yipes, dinner was on the table!

We had one of our mainstays for dinner,  Garlic Panko Chicken Strips (already in Recipes I Love) and artichokes.  Yum, artichokes.  To think that I never had an artichoke until I was in my 30’s!.  I made a dipping sauce from America’s Test Kitchen that is made of olive oil, dijon mustard, fresh tarragon (yeah! for the herb bed starting to grow outside the back door!), garlic, salt and pepper.  It is very good without the overdose of butter…not that I have any problem with butter!

One thing we did see that has been missing for awhile…a yellow orb in the sky!  I will not gloat because I know that my daughters are still being deluged with rain in the Northeast but, gee, was it nice.  It is still a bit chilly but tomorrow is supposed to be in the 60’s and then in the 70’s.  Since we are traveling South for a bit, maybe this is our last cold spell and last few fires in the woodstove for the year.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogging takes a backseat

  1. Katie says:

    Ooh, can I have the recipe for the artichoke dipping sauce? I have been wanting artichokes but have been avoiding them because of the butter overload!

  2. Retired woman says:

    Mustard-Tarragon Dipping Sauce

    Whisk together 6 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, 1 T red wine vinegar, 1 T Dijon mustard, 1 minced garlic clove, and 1 T minced fresh tarragon. Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve with the steamed artichokes in place of melted butter.

Leave a Reply

