Day 3 Staying Put

Our second day just outside of Nashville.  We decided to have a break from driving…of course, I don’t drive this rig…I have refused to learn how.  I have enough trouble with the diesel four wheel drive by itself; it is a honking big truck.  There is no way I am driving it with another 25-30 feet of vehicle behind me!

Anyway, it was a good day.  We had some showers overnight and early this morning but skies cleared by late morning and it was a beautiful day in the 70s.  We picked up a few supplies and did the laundry in the campground laundry room.  It was nice to load the washers, and later the dryers, and sit outside on a porch swing and read together while waiting.  Ah, vacation.

I did a mini “house blessing”, cleaning the trailer a bit while I had some time.  Otherwise, sitting outside and reading, watching the happenings in the campground.

Tomorrow morning we leave here and head for a State Park between Nashville and Memphis.  This time we will not have all the technology at the campsite so you may not hear from me tomorrow.  We will have trees and a lake and the absence of the sounds of an interstate in the background if all goes as planned.

We had Vegetarian Burritos today, a recipe from Recipezaar.  We liked it very much.  The leftovers will easily make a chili by just adding some tomatoes or tomato juice.   I will add it to Recipes I Love.  It is a repeater.  By the way,  I also like how much easier cleanup is with vegetarian meals!

Vegetarian Burritos...we had them with my Spicy Salsa.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 3 Staying Put

  1. amkaz says:

    You should try this on your journey.. It is going in my blog as soon as I can figure out how to do the recipes like you did. It is MAGNIFICENT!

    Black Bean Sweet Potato Chili
    2 TBL Olive oil or Coconut Oil (I used olive)
    1 Red Pepper, chopped (I used green)
    1 Medium Red Onion, diced (I added 1/2 a small sweet onion also)
    4 cloves Garlic, minced
    2 teaspoons sea salt
    1 large Garnet Yam, cut into cubes (1/2 inch)
    Zest and juice of 1 lime
    1 28-oz can of Fire Roasted Crushed Tomatoes
    3 cans Black Beans (or 4 cups freshly cooked)
    1 TBL. cumin
    1 TBL. Chili Powder (I use a Chili Blend)
    1 tsp. Cocoa Powder
    1 c. chopped Cilantro for garnish (optional)
    In large pot, heat oil over medium heat and sauté garlic, onion, red pepper & sea salt until soft (about 4-5
    min). Add the cumin & chili powder and stir to combine. Cook for another minute. Add chopped sweet
    potato & lime zest, cooking about 10 minutes more, stirring occasionally. Add the tomatoes, black beans,
    lime juice and cocoa powder. Bring to a simmer, cover and cook for 10 minutes, or until potatoes are
    soft.
    Top with chopped cilantro and a squeeze of lime, if desired. Serve over brown rice or with corn bread.

  2. Retired woman says:

    It sounds wonderful. We will try it soon!

Leave a Reply

