Albuquerque and Southwest Vegetarian

We traveled from western Arizona to Albuquerque, NM today.  So many times it reminded me of the scenery of Westerns when I watched as a kid.  I kept glancing at the horizon to see if we were going to be ambushed.  Of course, at  other times I looked at the rocky landscape and outcroppings thinking of Captain Kirk throwing one of those boulders at some lizard-like alien.  (Have I mentioned that The Bearded One is a SciFi fan?

We are staying just outside of Albuquerque, NM (takes some practice to spell that).  I can see why it holds a yearly hot balloon event, nothing much to get tangled up in…

Very flat with mountains in the distance.

It is still cool but not freezing like the past few days.  It was in the 50s here today but windy.  New Mexico has been windy on our trip this spring…maybe, always?  But beautiful in its own way.

We had a recipe from our souvenir cookbook from the Grand Canyon, “Vegetarian Southwest” by Lon Walters.  We enjoyed Cilantro Seared Eggplant with Sonoran Ratatouille.  It was very good.  I will add it to My Favorite Recipes when I have a faster internet hookup.

Tomorrow, back into Texas.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

