Lessons Learned

My parents were extraordinary people.  While they are both gone now., I think of them daily.    Today I thought of lessons each of them taught me.

As I watched the Today Show this morning, the son of one of the Osmonds was on.  He has MS as did his father.  My dad had MS.  He lived with it for between 30 and 40 years.  He rarely complained.  The Osmond this morning said that he had learned from his dad that while bad things happen to all of us whether we choose to have them happen or not, we can choose whether we suffer.  We can choose how we respond to those things.  My dad taught me that too.  He was the most wonderful, positive person I have ever known.  People came to him for advice and inspiration, both family members and not, through out his time here.  I hope I choose wisely in my life.

I weeded the garden today.  Again.  Just trying to make it through the month worth of weeds that have built up while we traveled.  There were more than the usual number of dandelions.  It made me think of my mom.  After a lengthy stay in the hospital battling cancer, she was amazed and thrilled by the views out the window of the car as we drove home.  Look at the sky!  Aren’t the dandelions beautiful! (My mother had an immaculate lawn.  She would never have allowed a dandelion to appear…yet she found them beautiful that day.  Let us all rejoice in the beauty around us…even the beauty that is not planned for or an accepted form of beauty.  Life is beautiful.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lessons Learned

  1. Carol says:

    Amen

Leave a Reply

