The Sweet Smell of Lilacs

Does anything smell quite as sweet as lilacs in Spring?  My lilac bush is only about 4 years old.  It blooms later than most lilacs.  I noticed that when we returned from our month long trip to the Grand Canyon that the lilac bushes in this area were already spent.  Not mine.  It is blooming now.  I brought in a bouquet from the rear of the bush.  Yum.  Lilacs are wonderful!

Did a bit more weeding today…the Flylady way (Flylady.net)…a bit at a time so it is not an overwhelming task.  In fact, I logged onto Fly Lady today to catch up on housework.  This is the week for focusing on cleaning the kitchen and today’s task was to clean the stove well.  I decided to use my steam cleaner on it.  I had loaned the steam cleaner to my Mom  three years ago and had not used it since.  Sad.  But, I dug it out and the stove is cleaner than clean now.  I also cleaned the plastic cutting board next to the stove with the steam.  Nifty.  I feel good about the accomplishment.

Had a new recipe from my new Vegan cookbook for dinner…Greek Tomato Zucchini Fritters.  Unfortunately, I did not realize until too late that I did not have any tofu so I added an egg.  Not vegan at all but vegetarian and I am not frantic about dairy or eggs, I am just trying to reduce the number of legs and fins in our diet.  We had the fritters with tzatziki sauce and huge artichokes purchased at Trader Joe’s last week.  It was a very satisfying meal.

Allie, the kitten, is becoming more independent and kittenish.  She is dashing about the room at this moment, battling the houseplants.  A few moments ago she was enjoying adoration on my lap.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

