A Day for Stocking Up

The day started out rainy and cool.  A perfect day for doing a bit of baking.  I got the dough started for whole wheat buns.  I make a batch and freeze them, taking out a few at a time when we need them.  The recipe from King Arthur Whole Wheat Baking is a nice one.

While the dough was rising, we made a foray into the big city to the health food store for some ingredients needed for the new vegan cookbook I received for Mother’s Day.  I like that it does not call for a lot of prefab soy meats, etc.  just basic building blocks of food.  We have been using tofu pretty regularly and I needed more.  We have had one attempt at Tempeh and The Bearded One was not impressed but we need to give it another try.  We have never tried Seitan and I want to give that a try.  There is a recipe in the book for making your own Seitan but before getting the few ingredients, I want to see what the store bought tastes like.

We had a Rachel Ray recipe for dinner, 4 Minute Spicy Garlic Shrimp, and corn on the cob.  The corn from the market has been particularly good lately and a treat.  The shrimp recipe is an old standby…one of those reliable recipes that are frequently repeated (and I do not repeat many recipes!).

I will post the recipe in My Favorite Recipes.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Day for Stocking Up

  1. amkaz says:

    I love reading your blog!!!!
    I wanted to share this, my nutritional counselor (that I used for the cleanse) frowns upon the pre-fab soy stuff also. She even went so far as to say Miso is okay in small amounts but no tofu. I still use it sparingly but she warned me about the gluten presence in a lot of soy products (veggie burgers, etc, too) and the hormones in them.
    I also had one attempt at Tempeh and that landed in the garbage, so let me know if you have any success and I will do the same. I do not eat Seitan because of the gluten so I can be no help with that one. If the recipe in the book is gluten-free I would be interested.
    I cannot wait to watch and see what you like from the book!
    Have you made my cashew “feta” yet? Hubby told my folks Sunday about my Greek Salad. When he told them he thought it had real feta in it I knew it was as good as I thought it was. You have to kind of toss the “feta” in the dressing to get it to turn white. It starts out a golden color.

Leave a Reply

