Perspective

A rainy day in Ohio.  Starting with storms in the early morning hours with rain through the morning.  No weeding today.  We took the desktop computer to be repaired.  (Did I tell you that our appliance problems continue?  The dishwasher, the washing machine, the flatscreen TV…and now, the desktop computer?)  It is five years old so there is a minimal repair order on it.  I have backed up a lot of the data on the internet but still there are things I would like to get off the hard drive without a major internet download…AND it was still serving us pretty well so is worth a few bucks for a repair.  Otherwise, we will assume the position and buy a new one.  Sigh.

Had a pretty quiet day around the house with the rain and then humid heat.  Did a bit of cleaning, a bit of reading and a bit of TV.  Allie enjoyed the relaxing day…

We had Spice Market Sweet Potato and Lentil Packets for dinner.  I really liked it.  The Bearded One was not feeling well at dinner time and has not tasted it yet.  I will post the recipe if he likes it too.  (I think the balance of our opinions helps to sort out the best recipes to include on the blog.)  The recipe is from the May/June edition of Vegetarian Times.

I am rereading A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose by Eckhart Tolle.  I read it a couple of years ago and it really helped me to try to live more in the moment and pay less attention to the noise in my head.  As I read the chapters, I am taking time to listen to the author’s comments on Oprah.com.  

While it is not an easy read (like the Nora Robert’s book I am reading…thanks, Pat!), it has helped me get some perspective and joy.  It is certainly not for everyone…we each find our way in a different manner…it has been helpful to me.  I am just starting Chapter 3 this time around and have a way to go.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

