August…the month of plenty

The garden is really producing now!!!  This month will be filled with eating all the produce that we can hold and putting up the rest for the months to come.  This morning, after an hour of weeding, we picked tomatoes, cucumbers, summer squash, okra, some potatoes that turned up on their own,  and banana peppers.

I spent part of the day canning 7 pints of tomatoes (just the beginning of the glut to come, we hope) and also canning 10 pints of turkey broth that has been simmering in the crockpot since yesterday.  (We had a turkey breast feast with the kids last Friday and the bones needed to be used.)

While I am on the subject of canning, may I say that if you are going to do any amount of canning do not bother with the cheaper pressure cookers.  Go directly to an All American pressure canner.  They are GREAT!  You do not need a gasket (which is the part the commonly fails in the cheaper ones and costs a third of the cost of the canner to replace).  The All American canners are machined so finely that no gasket is needed between the lid and the body of the canner.  I have two sizes myself…one to hold 9 quarts…and this big boy to hold 18 pints.

For dinner, I tried a new recipe for Falafel.  I love falafel in restaurants and have tried to make it before, mainly from storebought mixes, but today I made it from scratch from a recipe I found on the internet (http://www.sooogood.org/iraqi_food_recipes/falafel.html).  I will post it in my favorite recipes on this blog.  I also made tzatziki sauce.  We had the falafel and tzatziki along with lettuce and garden tomatoes on pita bread.  It was GREAT!  I made a sauteed medley of today’s garden vegetables to go along with it and we were happy folk.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

