Production

The August garden continues to gain momentum.

The day's harvest

I spent much of a day putting up 15 pints of tomatoes, freezing okra and broccoli (still from the plants started in the garden in April!).  It feels good during part of the process and definitely feels good as I see the shelves in the root cellar and freezer filling up with food.  Reminds me frequently of that fable of the ants and the grasshopper (the grasshopper fiddles while the ants industriously put up food for the winter months).  I am definitely an ant.  I must say that in the midst of the heat and work of canning I sometimes mutter under my breath at the grasshopper.

Allie seems to be feeling better today.  She is eating and drinking again.  Running after me as I walk toward her food bowl with the bag of cat food….normal.  She does like to be petted more now.  Hmmm.  Is it the muscle relaxants or is this a new stage of kittenhood?  I hope it remains part of her ‘normal’.

The Bearded One put a Bandaid on her head this evening.

Then she realizes there is something stuck on her head!

The simple pleasures of life.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in cat, gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

