A Better Day

Okay.  I think if I told you the story of getting lost yesterday, I need to balance it with today.

Last night I thought about the future in my “awake time” that typically occurs between 2 and 4 in the morning.  I tried to tell myself to enjoy the present, do what I could about helping things be the best they could, and deal with the future when it comes.  Good idea.  I try to live that way.

Today came and it was much better.

The Bearded One announced he needed more vitamins.  I offered him some of mine to tide him over for a couple of days since we had been to the drugstore yesterday.  He said he did not mind going to the drugstore on his own.

Uh.  Remember, you could not find it yesterday?  But, at the same time, I remember my Special Education experience in promoting the maximum independence.  So, I gulped, put the cell phone in his pocket, reminded him of the route and sent him on his way.

Gulp.  I waited the expected amount of time and some more…after all he had to find the vitamin section of the drug store…and a bit more.  Then I called him.  He had not only gone to the drug store but stopped at our mechanic’s garage to schedule an oil change for our diesel truck!   Who would have thought that he would think of that on the best of days!

Later he spackled some holes in the woodwork.  A job that has been on the honey-do list for two years.  Yeesh.

So, it all balances out.  Life is good when it is not being scary.  And even then, in the big picture, it is better than most.

We tried a new recipe for dinner from Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian”, Rolled Kale with Feta and Olives.  (The recipe is published online, also.  He recommended Roasted Cottage Potatoes (online) as a side dish.

I needed to use kale from the garden so I made the kale recipe with thoughts that it might be passable.  It was great!  The cottage fries were terrific as a side dish…again not what I would have chosen.  Go, Mark Bittman!  I will add recipes tomorrow.

Also, I will blog a bit about my new baby.  I have a Kinect for the Xbox 360.  Fun!

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

