Patience and Kindness in the Days Before Christmas

Okay, folks.  It is getting crazy out there.  Lines, crowds, busy, hurry, etc. etc..

Calm down. Take a deep breath. Enjoy a moment or two.

Today, I met friends for lunch in a restaurant packed to the rafters.  Service was incredibly slow…lunch did not come until more than an hour after we ordered it.  I found a small hair in my salad.  Ah, well.  I had a nice lunch with friends I care about and the food was tasty and not otherwise furry.  Perspective, folks.

Then to the UPS Packing Store.  Those poor clerks!  Lines out the door.  Prices that make you cry (shipping is reasonable but the packing costs almost brought tears to my eyes).  Still, perspective.  I wished the clerk good luck with the rest of the season and opened the door for the next sucker (er, customer) carrying a large package.

Finally, to Kohls.  Okay, I do not generally give in to Kohls but I had a 30% off everything coupon.  I needed some staples for the January trip.  It all fit together.  So, although the parking lot was packed, I braved the store, found my things, and hit the register…to find the line about 20 folks deep.  Sigh.  Smile and joke with the customer behind me.  The line moved quickly along and, again, I wished the clerk my best in surviving the hours and days to come.

Back home.  Peace and Quiet.  Vegetarian Burritos for dinner.  Tasty.  No hair that I could not recognize as my own in the meal.  Life is good.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Patience and Kindness in the Days Before Christmas

  1. On the other hand…..you could own your own business and have UPS pick up right at your door step, have no time for lunch….let alone an hour to wait on its delivery….have no time for shopping and more time for exploration of all kinds of gift possibilities on the internet with no shipping expense in the comfort of your footed pj’s in this ungodly cold weather!

    • Retired woman says:

      You are absolutely right. I am incredibly lucky to have so much time to do what I want to do! I did not mean to complain, just reflect on the plight of the poor workers who are swamped at this time of year. At least the fact that all those businesses were so busy is a good thing…

Leave a Reply

