Three Cheers for Dough Enhancer!!

Yesterday, I told you about a new Blog I am following, Chickens In the Road.  On the blog,  Suzanne McMinn has a versatile recipe for Grandmother Bread and more saliently, a recipe for dough enhancer.

I have been baking my own bread for 5 years.  I bake a number of yummy types of bread but have to work extraordinarily hard to make a whole grain bread that is not dense and heavy.  Good, but too dense for general sandwich love.

So, I decided to try out the homemade dough enhancer. I picked up two of the ingredients, ascorbic acid and lecithin, at the health food store yesterday.  And two ingredients, pectin and gelatin, at the grocery store.  (I will not talk about going to the grocery two days before Christmas!)  The other ingredients (wheat gluten, dry milk, powdered ginger) I had on hand in the pantry.

I used the dough enhancer today in a whole wheat bread recipe from the site. It was incredible!  The dough rose and baked beautifully.

We had the bread with Potato Leek Soup.  It was tremendous!

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in recipe, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

