A VERY Expensive Glass of Wine

This image shows a red wine glass.

Image via Wikipedia

Last night I had a very expensive glass of wine and it did not taste good at all.  In fact the bitter aftertaste is still with me.

I was sitting in my comfy chair in the RV in the evening, beginning my daily blog.  I had the glass of wine on the table beside me.  The Bearded One was watching SyFy on the couch on the other side of the table.  Then….he accidentally knocked over his metal detector (which was on the couch beside him…you will ask someone with testosterone why it was there) and it hit my glass of wine spilling the entire glass on me and, more tragically, on my laptop keyboard.  EEEEESH!  Alarm!  Turn the computer over, drain, wipe, drain.  Say magical words. 

Nope.  The computer guts are still there.  Programs will come up but the keyboard appears to be fried.  We went to Walmart today to get an external keyboard and mouse (have I mentioned that we are in the middle of nowhere on the Forgotten Coast of Florida so it was a 30 mile to Walmart).  We returned and plugged in the keyboard.  Hope it works.  Nope the short in the system is still there.  I THINK that the laptop keyboard has a short that is erasing any input from either keyboard…like the Backspace key is constantly on.

I couldn’t stand it!!!!  Have I mentioned that I have a psychological disturbance that makes it impossible for me to deal with an item being lost of stupidly broken!  I am a maniac at such times.  I got back in the truck and drove the 30 miles back to Walmart and purchased a very basic laptop.  So, here I am again.  I just could not handle a month without a computer and internet access!  I can do without TV, or cable, or probably telephone but NOT the computer!

Sigh. 

When we get home I will take my fancier, only 6 months old, computer to our computer tech to see if he can revive or replace the keyboard.  Until then, bless my $400 Acer and know that my wineglass is across the room…

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A VERY Expensive Glass of Wine

  1. amkaz says:

    So you made it through the rain and camper set up in good condition only to be set back by another liquid and device issue… I feel for you but understand your reaction! I would have freaked! I hope it’s an easy repair when you get back to Ohio. And… a back up computer never hurts? 🙂

Leave a Reply

