Birthdays

Ah.  I remember when I was a little girl and birthdays were exciting.  Presents, birthday dinner, cake, maybe even a party.  Getting  a year older.

Somehow, birthdays have a little glow on the date but they certainly lose much of their cachet!

Today is my 59th birthday…next year the big 60.  Not that I am intimidated.  I have friends and relatives that are beyond that and are perking along proudly and well.  But, I can’t say that I celebrate just being a year older like I did when I was…say…nine.

I still had my birthday dinner.  Since I have an “In” with the chef (me), I chose Shrimp Scampi.  Fresh fish from the waters nearby.  Pretty darn good.  Then, instead of cake for dessert….potato chips.  Yum.  Perfect!

My gift.  The Bearded One did the dishes.

Birthday at 59.  A good thing.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthdays

  1. Carol says:

    Happy! Happy! I hope you had dip with your chips!

Leave a Reply

