My Thoughts on Happiness

Okay, some days are easier to be happy than others.  (Today is late January and I sat out by the beach reading for a portion of the day and actually had to come in to get a lighter weight shirt to avoid overheating…like, what is the to be unhappy about?)  AND, we had Deviled Crab made with fresh local crab for dinner.  UH, again, no unhappiness excuse there.)

But, there are plenty of things in life that can be used as an excuse for unhappiness.  Illness, hangnails, death, not having the sweater you want, arguments, a bad hair day…etc..

It is my strong feeling that happiness is a choice.  Granted, when faced when the deepest of the aforementioned, there is a relative degree of happiness but still it is a choice to see the glass half full.  Heck, my glass has been way more than half full for my life.  I have been so blessed.  Phenomenal parents and children, a terrific marriage, friends I care for and who care for me, and plenty of day to day blessings…the cats, the beach, the garden, art, cooking,  puttering,..and now, caring less and less what other folks think.

Most of my life, I have really tried to please others…even those who I do not know at all.  Now, more and more, I don’t really care about what strangers think of the choices I make and my current activity.  Heck, what was I thinking?  Most of those folks are way too busy living their own lives to even NOTICE what I was doing!!!

Sigh.  Take a deep breath and learn this lesson way before I did.

Although I must say I have had the Happiness gift all along.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in recipe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

