Is It Necessary to “Accomplish” Something?

At my Art Class on Monday, one of the participants was talking about feeling guilty about watching a TV show like “American Idol” without ‘doing something’.  It was a waste of time.

The members of this class are all in their late 50’s to 70’s.  We have spent many years “accomplishing” things.  At this point, can we not watch a TV show without guilt of not doing something ‘important’?

I am not sure.  I do know I continue to feel the need to ‘do’, to ‘accomplish’.  The joy is that I get to decide what I want to do/ accomplish.  But the guilt of downtime still jumps out at times.

Today I ‘accomplished’…cleaning the living and dining rooms, finishing the painting of the shelving in the living room, exercising, bringing in a load of wood, putting out the trash/recycling, making dinner, making reservations for our upcoming trip to see the Grandsons…etc.  Nothing that would be listed on Lifetime Accomplishments but I still feel compelled to list them to make my day worthy.  Sigh.  One should be able to have a whole day of absolute NOTHING…maybe not even getting out of one’s jammies…right, Mom?  Oh, sorry.  No, that is not what should be done.  Accomplish!  Do!

My Dad worked hard.  Somehow, I try to live up to my Mom’s expectations of work.  Honesty, integrity, courage…Dad.  Work, loyalty, commitment…Mom.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is It Necessary to “Accomplish” Something?

  1. Damned midwestern/german work ethic! Damn it! I feel the same quandry.

    Leave me, guilt. Leave me to live my life as I choose. My legacy is simple: here I am. Here is how I chose to live my life. Beginners mind, beginners progress?

    I am ready Eat Pray Love. I am not sure if I like this book. It may be self indulgent. It may be challenging. It seems pertinent.

    I am sending you a kindle. Love you.

  2. Retired woman says:

    I read Eat, Pray, Love some time ago. I really enjoyed it. It is delightfully self indulgent and highly pertinent.

    As for a Kindle, it would make me feel guilty. Love you, too.

Leave a Reply

