Generosity…and a Kindle

My sisters are great gift givers.  That is a definite talent that I did not inherit.  Then, on top of that, I am a bit THRIFTY…an issue when it comes to giving gifts.

More than price though, they recognize things that I would like and get them for me.  I generally have little clue what others want and tend to give what I want.  A definite problem that I want to overcome.

For Christmas, my older sister gave me a sumptuous sheet set.  I had been using the same two inexpensive (read, cheap) sheet sets for several years…they had just started to fray and I was considering a purchase.  Then, came a set of sheets that I could not have imagined!  Sigh.  How does she do it?

Then, today, from my other sister…I received a Kindle!  I have been looking at the basic Kindle for months.  One of my daughters has one, her husband has one, and my other daughter has a Nook.  I love reading.  I love technology.  What kept me from getting it.

Uh.  Thrift.  Budget.  Basic cheapness.

I tried to feel guilty after opening the box and seeing the Kindle.  But I could not stop dancing about in joy!  Sigh.  How does she do it?

I have already downloaded two books.  Okay, I admit it.  I downloaded two free books.  Sorry.  It is hard to reform.  But, I can tell…it is going to be habit forming.  Another step toward absolute hermitage!

Artichokes were beautiful and on sale today (that cheapness coming to the fore again) so we had artichokes as a side with Potato Chip Crusted Salmon (or the other way around).  Yum.

Today, I had art class.  I worked a bit on the background.

Get ready.  This is not so good.

I began the process of putting a cutting board image under my vegetables.  At this point the vegetables are hanging in front of the image and need more significant shadows to ground them.  Also, I am not pleased about the angle of the cutting board at this point.

I am learning.  We will see if it works out.

 

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in art, colored pencil, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

