Here is a clue: Cellphones and Washing Machines Do Not Play Well Together…

Sigh.

I have just recovered from the glass of wine interacting with the laptop keyboard.

Sigh.

Yesterday, as I emptied the washing machine to the dryer, I found my cell phone at the bottom of the load in the tub.

Sigh.

The bad news is that I had forgotten that it was in my jeans pocket.  The good news is…I had not turned it on.  (Okay, what the heck was I carrying it around for.  Turned off.  Did I think I might have an emergency in the garden?  At which time I could turn it on and call a tow truck for the tiller?

Sigh.

The good news is that I have seen several segments on TV and internet about what to do if your cell phone is immersed in water.  (I pay attention since I did that two years ago…no further comment needed.)  The bad news is that the cell phone should be recoverable if you can get it out of the water in 20 seconds (turn it off while it is underwater by the way…sorry, if it is in the toilet)….but, if it goes through a washing machine cycle…things are a bit dicey.

Sigh.

Nothing to lose though.  I followed directions.  Do not turn it on.  Remove the battery.  Remove the SIM card.  Dry with a towel.  Bury it in rice for at least 24 hours…I am going for 36.

You can just see the back of case and the battery. The actual cell phone is totally buried in the rice.

 

The good news is that the screen no longer shows signs of moisture trapped inside and some phones recover.  The bad news is, I may never learn…

Sigh.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

