Better…with Limitations

My daughter is home from the hospital.  Things are moving in a positive direction.  I am not sure she will be able to handle two preschoolers on her own by the time we leave but we will make those decisions in a few days.  Things are better though.  We all survived separation and anxiety and were reminded of how much we depend on one another.

She says she will feel guilty if we have to make arrangements to stay to help her out.  I remind her that in a number of years, I will feel guilty when she has to make arrangements to help me out.

Sigh.  Life.

Another sigh.  My 3 year old Grandson can now whip my posterior at video games.  (I will not even mention the 5 year old who knows things about video games that I cannot even imagine!)  This is to say, they know these things and they are highly limited in how much time they get to spend on those things.  (And, I could spend all day on them if I chose.)

 

Three years old...

 

 

and the Five Year Old

 

Notice how calm and relaxed they are.  How much they are enjoying the game.

Meanwhile, Grandma (when asked to join in the game, is hunched over the controllers….concentrating on the screen….eesh.

Later, after the game had been turned off to make Welcome Home pictures for Mommy, I think I heard my Grandson say “crap” when he could not find the crayon he was looking for.

Eesh.  What have I done?  Sorry, parents who my be reading this blog…..

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in grandchildren. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Better…with Limitations

  1. Carol says:

    Isn’t it a blessing that so often we are in the right place at the right time, and have the opportunity to make adjustments in our lives to do what we need to do. God bless your family and God speed recovery.
    C

    • Retired woman says:

      It is true that there seems to often be a blessing in the timing of things! Thanks for your good wishes.

  2. I hope she is feeling better soon. I am glad you are there to help.
    I say crap when I can’t find my crayons, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

