Apartness

Apartness…is that the opposite of togetherness?

The Bearded One and I will soon have been married 32 years but rarely have we been apart for any long period of time.  We choose to be together and to do many things together.

The last time I was away for more than 5 days was when the kids were young and we went to visit my folks  in Florida for 10 days in August when The Bearded One was working and I was still on summer break.  That was over 20 years ago.

I will be gone for 5 days this week.  The Bearded One will be supervised by the cats.  That should keep him plenty busy.

Tonight, I let him pick the menu for dinner since it is the last home cooked meal he will have until next Saturday.  He picked pot roast.

It has probably been nearly a year ago that we last had pot roast.  We have been trying to only eat beef/pork once a week and there are so many options on those days that it just has not come up.

So, pot roast it was.  I used a recipe from My Recipes for Classic Beef Pot Roast.  It was terrific!  I recommend it.  Yum….and that is from one who loves the vegetarian foods we eat so often.  Not that this tastes at all vegetarian.  It is just worth the meat that is in it.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

