On the Way Home

Travelling back home today.  The return trip (thus far) has been much calmer than the trip a few days ago.  I am once again at the Philadelphia airport but connections are easy to make.  I actually got to walk leisurely between gates with plenty of time to spare!  I am trying a soft pretzel on the advice of one of my sisters.  Tasty and pretty healthy compared with much of the airport fare.

I did not blog last night (although I am still attempting to blog daily) because I tried to spend every possible moment with the grandsons and my daughter and her husband.  We watched Tangled last night.  The boys had seen it before but requested it.  I had never seen it before and really enjoyed the movie.  It reminded me of a cross between old fashioned Disney animation and a Broadway musical.

The best part was cuddling with the boys in the growing darkness as we watched.   Those cuddles will become increasingly rare as they grow older.  Then I had the pleasure of reading them a bedtime story for the last time this trip.  It was a short story though since they were so sleepy.  A pleasant time, seeing those innocent faces in their sleep…

We made homemade noodles together in the afternoon.  My daughter made the dough, then the boys cranked the pasta machine as we kneaded and cut the noodles.  A memory for us all.  They were delicious at dinner.  Evan, especially, is a noodle fiend and my daughter and I both adore noodles with mashed potatoes.

Now, headed home to The Bearded One.  This is the longest we have been apart in at least 15 years so we are missing each other.  Nice that after all these years we would rather be together than apart.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in grandchildren and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Way Home

  1. Pat, your sister says:

    Now I’m hungry for noodles and mashed potatoes…

Leave a Reply

