The Storms of Life

One day is sunny and beautiful.  Who knows what tomorrow will bring?

My thoughts are with the folks in the South who are enduring the pain of the storms that their tomorrow brought.  Shocking losses, in lives and, less importantly, property.

Heart wrenching.

I reflect on the Xenia, Ohio tornado of 1974.  I was on my way to Xenia for a barbeque.  The skies turned yellow and the rain turned to hail.  I turned back from the journey and tried to call the family who were waiting for me.  The phone just rang and rang.  Little did I know that that is what happens when there is no phone left to receive the call.

Later, I learned that the family was okay but their home was gone.  Much of the town was gone.

The pain of losses in the next hours and days was mindbending and heartbreaking.  But the outpouring of support from strangers was uplifting.  It helped to heal hearts and to give hope to a hopeless situation.

My thoughts are with those who have lost so much.  I pray that they are given the support from strangers that will help them heal and stand again.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Storms of Life

  1. I thought you were with mom and I, going to the Dayton Mall to buy her a swimsuit at Rike’s in advance of spring break. I remember being nervous about the weather, and you assuring me that there was never a tornado when there was hail… I remember the tornado warning going off in the mall, then listening to the Xenia radio station with a map and marking off the areas that people were calling in, getting a picture of how massive it was…

    • Retired woman says:

      I remember “no tornado if there is hail” but you and Mom must have gone to the mall on your own while I drove to Xenia. I got as far as Spring Valley before turning back. The sky just looked spooky. I should have taken it as a sign…

  2. Carol says:

    I remember being in Bowling Green with tornadoes all over the Midwest and Don in flight home from Chicago. After he got safely home we were almost certain that Granma McCoy and his family were in the devastation and possibly dead—those days of waiting were awful.

Leave a Reply

