The Good News

The Bearded One got the results from his ERG and colonoscopy today.  The good news is that all of it was good news and there were not pictures for you to see!  He did not even get a lecture to stop doing one thing or another!

Ah, the joys of late adulthood.

We returned from the doctor’s appointment after running a few errands to a beautiful day.  The first day in some time that the sun was shining with no threat of rain.

I should have worked in the yard.  But, no, I did not feel like it.  I took Allie out for some air while I did a few minor jobs but nothing major.  I just admired the weather and hoped for more to come.  (It is supposed to rain again tomorrow…sigh…I will be sorry I did not weed today.)

For Cinco de Mayo I decided to try a recipe for Cream of Poblano soup.  I had to make a batch of corn tortillas for the recipe, but just needed three tortillas for the soup.  I am trying to perfect using the tortilla press.  I used the press then further thinned the tortillas by rolling them out.  This is much better.

The tortillas fresh from the press were thick and doughy.  Using the rolling pin after pressing them make them much thinner and tasty.  I used most of the batch into tortilla chips by baking them in a 400 oven for 5 minutes, some with spices, some with just salt.  Pretty tasty…although I am sure that fried would be better…not healthier but better.

Some book I read said that junk food is okay as long as you make it yourself.  Since it took over an hour to make these chips, I suppose that is true.

The Cream of Poblano soup sounded better than it was.  It was okay…but okay is not enough to repeat.  None the less it took an hour of preparation to make something okay.  Sigh.

Speaking of okay.  I worked a bit on the preliminary layers of the background of The Catbird Seat…nothing exciting, just basic…

Last night...

Tonight, with little patience for it...

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in art, cat, colored pencil, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

