What We Will Do for Love…

At least, what I will do for love…

There are few foods that I truly detest…or which I can hardly abide the aroma.  But liver is one of those foods.

BUT, The Bearded One likes liver.  My mom used to cook liver for him and I would have something else for the meal.  I would freeze packets of the liver so he could have future meals when I had dinners with friends.

Now, I have to do the cooking of liver when he has a hankering for it.  Sigh.  I love him, so I do it.

Today, he had liver and onions, mashed potatoes, and asparagus from the garden (yes, the season continues and we are still enjoying the bounty).

Image from Thenourishingcook.com

He enjoyed it.  I ate mashed potatoes with a topping of caramelized onions with a side of asparagus.  There are worse trials for love…

Here is Mom’s recipe for Liver and Onions.

Ingredients

Liver

Onions, sliced thinly

Oil (I used half butter and half oil for the onions)

Place sliced onions in hot oil/butter mix in a skillet.  Add salt to taste.  Cover and cook at medium temperature, stirring occasionally until onions are tender,  soft and lightly golden.  This can take 30-45 minutes.

Remove liver from package and wash under running water.  Put into a pan and pour boiling water over the liver.  Allow the liver to sit in the hot water 2-3 minutes.  The liver will turn a whitish color.

Heat the oil in a second skillet.  Dredge liver pieces in flour and put into hot oil in skillet.  Fry until brown on each side.  Watch carefully as it can burn easily.

Add cooked onions to skillet with liver and steam a short time.  Serve.

Thank your loved one for enduring the process.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What We Will Do for Love…

  1. dsgnmom says:

    Thanks for the pingback to my guest blogger George’s recounting of his time as a kid eating L & O…. liver and onions ;-).
    I actually liked it and ate it growing up but can scarely find a friend to have it with. I really like this post too: http://tossingtheswissaround.wordpress.com/2011/02/08/feed-a-kid-liver-you-might-pay-for-that
    Cute story! Thanks for the mention!
    Janiece
    dsgnmomonline.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

