Memorial Day

We will probably spend Memorial Day at the campsite tomorrow so I will be unable to blog tomorrow.

I want to express my deep appreciation for all of those who have served our nation, and me…and mine, now and in years past.

Currently, my nephew is serving our nation as a pilot in the Navy.  He and his family give so much so that our nation can be free.  (I would post his picture but I respect his privacy and his security too much for that…)

My Dad flew a B-17 during WWII.  He was 19 and piloting a plane with a full crew flying dangerous missions each day.  He was proud that his crew made it safely home except for the few who flew with other pilots.  I also respect greatly my Mom who supported and waited through those scary times.

My father-in-law also served in WWII.  His step-brother died in the Bataan Death March.  His son served in the Korean War.  My Grandfather served in he infantry in WWI.  Other relatives served in the Spanish-American, the Civil War and the Revolutionary War.  Frightening for all of them.  I give respect to all they did to serve.

How do you swallow your fear as a soldier or a family member and do your duty?  It is mind boggling to think so many can do this on a daily basis.

Thank you all.  I salute you.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memorial Day

  1. Pingback: Sunday Photos Part I: WWII Memorial « Photos along the way…

Leave a Reply

