Life is But a Dream

If life is a dream, I am having a darned good dream.  There have been a few scary moments, a few sad moments, but overall a joyous dream.

I have found that I have more time to reflect on my dreams in my post 50, nearly 60 years.  Sleeping any length of time without interruption is a rare thing these days.  In the past I used to wake for a time at around 2 in the morning to worry about whatever was uppermost in my mind.  After an hour or so of worry, and a thorough replay of the events of the previous day, I was generally able to return to sleep until the alarm went off to go to work.

But, now, I get my best sleep for the first 3 or maybe 4 hours of the night, then I am awake.  I think.  I toss.  I ponder.  I toss some more.  I read.

After an hour or two, if I am lucky…3 or 4 hours when I am not so lucky, I am able to return to sleep for the best dreams of the night.  I generally start to awaken at the end of a fun dream.  Nice.  Sometimes, I even want to continue to dream to finish the fun.  Rarely, can I do so though.

I find it somewhat amazing who populates my dreams.  Certainly, many folks who I have not thought about consciously for years.  Usually it is folks I like (or liked at one point in my life0 but I am amazed at how fleeting relationships (work, personal, or just acquaintances)  pop back up in my dreams in some manner or another.

The Bearded One seems to have a similar experience though instead of tossing and pondering in the middle of the night, he bops out of bed at the first sign of wakefulness and watches TV and reads for a period of time then returns to quickly fall asleep.  (I know this because I am partially awake, tossing and pondering, throughout this time).

I can also report that his dreams seem to be nice ones.  He talks in his sleep many times.  He seems to be having a great time…eating good food, enjoying good times.  Good for him.

I must say that one of the joys of being married is having someone there to wake you up when you have one of those terrifying dreams.  Someone to assure you that it was just a dream.  Someone you trust enough to fall back to sleep and know that it is okay….

Now, back to living my dream…

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life is But a Dream

  1. Pingback: Living With a Rebel Within « My World

Leave a Reply

