Cream of Mushroom Soup

The evenings are beginning to get cooler.  The sun is at a new angle and lighting up new angles of the house to clean….I was appalled to see the dust on some of my windowsills!

To celebrate what my Mom would think of that dust, I cleaned out my refrigerator today.  I washed the shelves.  She frequently requested that I clean my refrigerator…

We spent the night last night at the lake.  VeeGee (cat) was pleased.  She had been alone for three days and really missed her pitty pats.  I wish she was easier to move around.  Allie easily moves between campers and the house.  She is confident wherever she goes.  VeeGee freaks when we move to quickly toward her, even without the threat of a harness or cat carrier.  Sigh.

Tonight, we are back at home.  I have orientation for Grand Jury service tomorrow though I am only a sub.

Hopefully, we will be at the Lake for the weekend.

Tonight, we had Mushroom Soup for dinner.  I found a “restaurant mix” of mushrooms on sale at the grocery today so it was oyster, shiitake and portabello mushrooms along with the typical mushrooms I already had at home.

Yum.

Picture from range-warfare at blogspot

 

INGREDIENTS:

5 cups sliced fresh mushrooms

1 1/2 cups vegetable broth

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/8 t dried thyme

3 T butter

3 T flour

1/4 t salt

1/4 t pepper

1 c milk

1 T sherry

In a large heavy saucepan, cook mushrooms in the broth with onion and thyme until tender, about 10 to 15 minutes.

In blender or food processor, puree 2/3 of the mixture.  Set aside with the chunkier portion.

In the saucepan, melt the butter, whisk in the flour until smooth.  Add the salt, pepper, milk and vegetable puree.  Stirring constantly, bring soup to a boil and cook until thickened.  Adjust seasonings to taste, and add sherry.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cream of Mushroom Soup

  1. The mushroom soup reminds me of when mom and dad would go mushroom hunting in Elkhart Lake, Indiana. When I was little, I thought that was all they did, day in and day out, them and their friends hunting mushrooms. In my wise old age, I think they probably had them selves a fine time partying and playing cards. Nice to think of them. Makes me hungry for the morels dad used to fry up in butter in the cast iron skillet.

    Funny what memories stick.

    • Retired woman says:

      I remember the mushroom hunting trips but I knew, even then, that they were whooping it up in other ways. I am amazed you came up with Elkhart Lake….is that where they went? I have no memory of where!

  2. Pingback: Cream of Mushroom Soup « Rumblings of an Ol’ Curmudgeon

Leave a Reply

