The Dark Side

I enjoy living in my happy little world.  I do not enjoy watching the news with any real focus because there is so much nastiness around that I do not want to think about.  I would prefer that my positive energy impact a bit of the world instead of that negative energy destroy mine.

None the less, sometimes I must see the dark side a bit.

I received a summons for Grand Jury duty.  Last Thursday, I went through jury selection as I have done a number of times in the past when I was working.  This time I did not have a real reason why I could not participate for a portion of the four months (yes, 4 MONTHS) of the term.  So, I volunteered to do up to a month of the time.

Today, I spent the day going through orientation.  It was interesting and informative.  The Grand Jury decides if the prosecution has sufficient evidence to take a case to court…to indict.  So, the Grand Jury spends 8 or more hours a day hearing the prosecution’s side of felony charges…drugs, theft, assault, rape, murder, etc…and there is a lot of that stuff.  Four months of that for those that have volunteered for the full term.  Eesh.  I am not sure that I would ever fully recover from seeing the full extent of the evil in the world.

I like my small town.  I like thinking that lots of good exists.  I want to remain a positive energy.  I will substitute during this time if I am needed but I will run home to my small town and the voices of my kids and grandkids on the phone.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Dark Side

  1. The grand jury is lucky to have you to offset the cynical, negative mindset of the rest of the world. But enough about me…

Leave a Reply

