Take a Step Back

Sigh.

The scourge of broken things continues.  As I was mowing the grass today…BLAM!  POW!….something hit the blade and flew across the yard.  The mower immediately stopped dead.  I could not restart it.  The electric start did not turn at all and I could not pull the cord.

Eek.

I asked The Bearded One to look at it.  He turned the mower on its side and EEK!  the blade was shaped like an S.  Oops.

I took the blade to the local hardware store for a replacement.  An old farmer waiting at the cash register exclaimed at the talent I had demonstrated in deforming the blade.  He helped in calling local equipment dealers to try to get a replacement on a Saturday afternoon (small town places close on Saturday afternoons…I will wait until Monday to shop again).

Sigh.  We have to stop breaking things.  We.  Meaning I mostly.

But, I did work again on the portrait.  I am traveling some in the next couple of weeks and the deadline is approaching so I am trying to make some serious progress on this thing.

It helps me to take a step back and look at the portrait hanging across the room with the reference photo.  And, for some reason, it helps to look at the scan on the blog.  It gives me a view through an objective eye.

So, here goes.

Here is the reference photo (just to remind you).

And the portrait tonight (with much more work ahead)…

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in art, colored pencil. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

