Stepping

Taking baby steps….mostly forward

I worked a bit more on the painting project in the Tower Room.

It is hard to show you the project.  The room is a 16’x15′ octagonal with a large hot tub and a spiral staircase taking major floor space.  The ceiling is a story and a half high.

For all these reasons, it is hard to photograph and even more difficult to paint.  I cannot remove most of the furniture (the spiral staircase) and, to paint, I have to perch precariously on a ladder, on a platform over the staircase, or on the hot tub.  For a woman afraid of heights, this is traumatic!

I had to buy a second gallon of paint which may or may not exactly match (fat chance) the first gallon so I am painting each new angle with the different paint.

I worked for two hours on it today and gave up so I would not mess it up as I became fed up.

So far, it is looking good (I like the color) and I have not messed it up in any obvious way.  I need one more day, I think, to finish the painting.  A good sunny day would help point out any flaws that need to be remedied.

Then, I am painting some of the furniture and when we return from Snowbirding, I will redo the flooring.

Progress, at least.

It is Beef/Pork day in the household so we had Pot Roast with Potatoes and Carrots.  I used the organic beef we purchased at Earth Fare.  It was GREAT!  No antibiotics or hormones.  Made me feel better about eating meat…and it was tasty!

I browned the roast after seasoning with salt and pepper then sauteed some celery, onion, and carrots in the same pan.  I added broth to the vegetables with garlic and thyme then added the meat, brought it to a simmer and put it in a 300 degree oven for 4 hours.  I then put in peeled potatoes and carrots and roasted it all in the oven for another hour.

I removed the meat and vegetables, skimmed fat, and added 1/4 cup of red wine.  Simmered it for a few minutes and served it all.  Yummy.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in recipe, renovation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stepping

  1. Pingback: BYOB Painting Class for One or Two at Wine and Design (Up to 54% Off) » Get your daily Groupon deals

Leave a Reply

