Shrimp Bisque …. just another day on the Gulf Coast

The weather is about to turn a bit cooler down here. We may have to tolerate the 60s during the day. So sad, I know.

Today was supposed to be in the high 60s and sunny but it was the first day I actually was hot at times. The sun was very warm, the air was nice with a bit of cool so all in all it balanced out perfectly.

The sky was amazingly blue.

The water was beautiful.  We admired the view during the day.

And returned to admire the views at sunset.

We had Shrimp Bisque for dinner because we had been accumulating shells and heads from the shrimp we have had for the last couple of days.  (I had frozen the shells and heads from  two days ago…they have to be fresh.)  I made shrimp stock.

The shells and vegetables ready to be simmered

The final, rich shrimp stock

Normally, I would make Shrimp Risotto with it, but we just had Mushroom Risotto yesterday so it was Shrimp Bisque.  I used a new recipe (to me) from Bon Appetite.  I did change it a bit, using milk instead of heavy cream and a bit of vermouth instead of the brandy (hey, in a truck camper I can’t have EVERYTHING on hand!).  It was great!  The Bearded One had five servings.

Life is good!

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in camping, recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

