Home and Homemade Tostadas

We have returned home!  We have been on the road in our truck camper for a bit over 10 weeks and have traveled nearly 4500 miles.  We have enjoyed every minute of it.  I will show you our route on another day.

We have returned to a house at least 20 times as large as our camper…probably much more than 20…I just don’t want to spend the time figuring it out.

One of my only frustrations when traveling is that there was no room to exercise.  I had a yoga video and mat that I thought would work but it turns out a truck camper is just too small and I am not going to be seen doing yoga poses in public!

After returning home, I realize that I also had missed doing alot of walking.  It is amazing how little walking you do when your kitchen is two steps from your bedroom or bathroom or living room…instead of 20 or 40 steps.  So, I exercised this morning (starting out slowly) and walked and walked and walked…unloading the camper, putting things away, doing laundry, etc..

Tonight, for dinner, we had homemade tostadas.  I made these first on the road using store bought corn tortillas but tonight I made the tortillas from scratch.  Either way they are darn good!

I used canned pinto beans to make refried beans.  Saute one clove of mince garlic in a bit of olive oil then add the undrained pinto beans and mash them as they warm up.  Cook to a consistency of lumpy mashed potatoes.

Meanwhile, fry the tortillas for 30 seconds per side and keep warm on a paper towel lined cookie sheet in a 250 degree oven.

Serve with thinly sliced lettuce, chopped onion, salsa, shredded cheese, and optionally, sour cream, avocado slices, guacamole, sliced black olives and any other thing you think sounds good.

Tasty.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in recipe, truck camper and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home and Homemade Tostadas

  1. Pingback: Top That Tostada | What's On the Stove?

Leave a Reply

