Settling In

We are home after nearly 11 weeks on the road in a truck camper.

Upon reflection, I missed little to nothing of the space and the stuff in the house. I did miss having a hairdresser who had a clue how to cut my hair (what a nightmare to put myself at the mercy of a complete stranger!).

Instead, I find myself longing for something smaller, for fewer things to take care of.

For 11 weeks, I had to keep the camper tidy to keep sanity, but cleaning took minutes. Now I am back to cleaning a room a day every day just to keep up. Some rooms are not used except to clean them!

If the housing market was better, I would sell and build/buy something much smaller and energy efficient. But, alas, not now…keep cleaning…

We continue to est less meat and more vegetables.  We have been repeating many of the recipes on this blog.  The main reason I post recipes is so that I can remember to make them in the future.

Meat recipes are easy to come up with, many from my youth.  Totally vegetarian recipes take more thought so I find myself looking through the list on the blog.  Either way, a recipe has to be good for me to want to put it here.

Tonight, we repeated Lemony Asparagus and Shrimp Risotto.  But a few days ago, we had something new to add to our repertoire:  Vegetarian Black Bean Enchiladas made with Whole Wheat Tortillas.

The tortillas were nice.  Granted, white flour tortillas are wonderful but I am trying hard to stay away from white flour.  These were very successful.  They blistered like tortillas should when they are being cooked.  They were very tasty.

The enchiladas were so filling that each of us could only eat one and halving the recipe still made it three times to big for us.  (But we are older and have less of an appetite of many of you younger scamps.)

I want to make these again, so here they are on the blog!

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in camping, recipe, truck camper, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

