Moving Forward

The Tower project is moving forward.  At least, I hope the direction is forward.

After mowing the yard today…shocking for March…I decided to work on the Tower since it was too hot (again, in March!!!????).

Because the flooring I ordered yesterday is medium toned and golden while the woodwork, the hot tub surround and a shelving unit are also similar, I decided that something has to go.

The shelving unit is an entertainment unit by Sauder.  Basically, cheap pressed wood with a wood grain outer layer of laminate.  It has to go…at least the appearance has to go.

Here it is after I removed the shelves in preparation for the first step of deglossing it.

Sorry, you cannot see much. It shows the challenges of working in this room where there is a hot tub and spiral staircase that have to be worked around.

I have deglossed the unit and the shelves in preparation for painting.  I need to have a color to go with the painting and upholstery done in December.  Remember?

Wicker shelving unit and chair already finished.

The upholstery color palette.

I am thinking of this for the color of the shelving unit (adding a new backing).

What do you think?  I need input before I take the plunge?  Should I go for off-white instead?

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in renovation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

