Productivity

What is it with me?  I always seem to need to show you what I have produced?  Food, decor, art, garden….?  But, I do.

I think I was raised by a Mom who produced and cared for.  Nothing else will suffice.

So, I will talk about what I produced today.

I attended my first art class in 4 months.  It was wonderful to be back.  I did not know what to work on so I took the Lilac painting that I have been revising and the Mustard painting I started a year ago but drives me nuts.  (It is like working on a 5,000 piece jigsaw puzzle!)

I worked on the Mustard painting.

The reference photo

The last time I worked on it...

Today.

Still a long way to go.  It may be years before I finish this one (if ever) and I may be bald from snatching out my hair before that!

The other thing I accomplished today was overcoming a bit of my shyness.

I watch Oprah’s Life Class.  The past two sessions have been particularly good.  Episodes with Tony Robbins and T.D. Jakes.  (You can see the sessions on Oprah.com if you did not catch them on OWN.)  They talk about overcoming Fear and Living with Purpose.  Both interesting.  I had several insights.

The one thing I decided to tackle was overcoming my shyness…at least to some degree.  I am going to talk to more folks.  I am always friendly.  I have no problem greeting foks, but I do have trouble initiating conversations.

So, my goal is to initiate conversations in familiar situations…like with my neighbors and in art class.  Duh, you say?   You are obviously not shy!

Today, I moved in art class to sit down beside someone who had been attending art class with me for the past few sessions.  We chatted.  It was good.

Check one box off the list.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in art, colored pencil, internet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Productivity

  1. Lovely painting. One suggestion, though–try increasing the intensity of the colors and the dark and light values. The colors in the reference photo are much more rich and vibrant. One trick is to scan the painting in black and white. Then take a good look at the result. Does the painting have enough contrast in values? Or does it mostly consist of mid-tone values?

    • Retired woman says:

      I absolutely agree with you, there are many more layers of color to come on the painting. I wanted to get the hassle of the veining finished and now I will begin intensifying the colors. Thanks for your suggestion!

Leave a Reply

