Eat Your Medicine

I am a sucker for potato chips.  I try not to have them in the house since I cannot resist them.  If a bag is in the house, within two days they are gone…and that is with me showing restraint.

But, The Bearded One needs to take his medicine.

I am trying a new approach to his loss of short term memory and executive functioning.  The Universe seems to be speaking to me from several sources that I should consider findings about coconut oil and its impact on just such things.

Two days ago, I began giving The Bearded One what I hope to approach 3 T. per day of coconut oil.  Some is direct (mixed into his coffee), other through cooking.  So far so good.  We will see if it has an impact.  A number of folks online report some reversal of symptoms.  Hope so.

BUT, the nicest way to take the medicine has been potato chips.  Can you imagine having to eat chips to be healthier?

Dried slices

I sliced two potatoes using the mandoline and soaked the slices in icy water for an hour.  (Directions say 30 minutes to 8 hours).  I then drained them and dried them in a towel.

Frying in coconut oil.

I heated 1/2 inch of coconut oil in an iron skillet until a slice of potato sizzled.  Add a layer of potato and flip after about 2 minutes.  Remove when golden (only about another minute).  Drain on racks over paper towels or newspaper.  Sprinkle with a bit of salt (much less than in commercial chips).

Ah. Yum.

Devour.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in food, recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eat Your Medicine

  1. This is a great blog, I just found it. Isn’t it amazing how many potatoes it takes to make a small amount of chips? Another great way to get coconut oil in the diet is through the skin. You absorb 60% of the amount you rub on your body. I also like it in popcorn!

  2. I always knew you were sneaky. I use coconut oil here for various things, I like the subtle flavor it adds. Coconut water is getting good reviews too, any benefit there? Maybe in a nice Pina Colada?

    • Retired woman says:

      Not really sneaky. He knows I am trying to get it into the food, I just can’t yet ask him to drink it straight….

Leave a Reply

