Painting Again

I have been travelling and distracted for the past number of months.  I have not worked on my art for 6 or 7 months.  I took the pencils with me but did not push through to create anything.

I started a project last August at the Colored Pencil Society Convention but have not completed it.  I start a new class next Wednesday so I thought I should dust things off.

The reference photo

The reference photo

I started the work in the class so was drawing from scratch with no particular need to be accurate, just to try out the new techniques.

Here it is tonight.

IMG_5030

I like the colors and am improving the textures.  If I had my druthers, I would have been more particular about the front leaf being as large as in the reference photo but this one is all about learning a new technique so que sera sera.

 

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in art, colored pencil, colored pencil art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Painting Again

  1. Aphrodite says:

    The likeness is amazing! Even in the photo above…it could remain that way without the whole area being “drawn”.

Leave a Reply

