Triage Gardening

We have been away from home for nearly 8 of the past 12 months.  Some planned trips and some not so much.  All for good and beneficial reasons.  Needless to say, the gardens suffered.

So, now I am putting things to rights again.

Garden  2013 011

 

A month ago when we returned, all of the vegetable  and flower garden beds looked like this, totally taken over with weeds and I have A LOT of garden beds.  So, I have taken a triage approach to the gardens.  First order of business is the vegetable garden.

I used the broadfork to lift every inch of the vegetable garden and pull up every weed by its roots from the loose soil.  I was inspired by my sister’s raised garden beds and divided my large garden into small beds (usually 4×4).  I laid landscape fabric to make walkways between the beds and mulched the walkways.

Here is the vegetable garden today.  Take into consideration that it is early May in Ohio and we have not yet reached last frost date though the forecast does not indicate a frost so I have taken a chance and put some plants.

Garden  2013 002

The South end of the garden. Garlic in the foreground was planted last November before I came up with the bed project so I planted tomatoes alongside to make a long narrow bed.

Hard to see the walkways but they are there.  It allows the soil in the beds to remain loose and more intensive planting can  take place.

Garden  2013 004

Sweet peppers and eggplant

Garden  2013 003

Hot peppers

Garden  2013 006

Peas, kohlrabi and broccoli

The North end of the garden.  The rhubarb is going mad this year!  Beyond  is a large area I am going to use to plant sweet corn this year.

The North end of the garden. The rhubarb is going mad this year! Beyond is a large area I am going to use to plant sweet corn this year.

A bit of the asparagus bed.  We are inundated with fresh asparagus.  Poor us!

A bit of the asparagus bed. We are inundated with fresh asparagus. Poor us!

And I have finished weeding over half of the flower and shrub beds.  Triage for them starts with those we see most often and those that look the worst from the street.  Yesterday, the shrub bed got attention.

Before...

Before…

Garden 2013 002There is lots more to be done.  Finish the inital weeding and mulching then I need to  move some perennials (like those day lilies in the picture by the fence), some new plantings and finishing the vegetable garden by planting seeds of summer crops.

But, I am well on my way!  Good thing because we are adding a second yard to our list next week.  I will fill you in on that later!

 

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

