Learning

I attended a full day workshop for colored pencil artists yesterday.  The presenter was Cecile Baird, a phenomenal artist in many mediums, but one of my heroes in colored pencil.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAShe is known for her extraordinary lighting of natural subjects.  Just look at some of her art at http://www.cecilebairdart.com/.

She gave a great workshop.  I learned quite a bit and enjoyed working alongside fellow artists.

Although we only had three hours to work on our subject once she taught us techniques, here is her image and my copy.

Her finished painting at the top, my attempt at the bottom.

Her finished painting at the top, my attempt at the bottom.

I am pretty pleased.  A colored pencil painting takes hundred of hours on average so three hour to complete a project is very short.  Granted, she has MUCH more talent than I but I am pleased about the techniques I learned.  She is a gifted artist and teacher.

I worked a bit more on the Ram painting today but it has hundreds of hours to go.

The last time you say Dos...

The last time you say Dos…

IMG_0721

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in art, colored pencil, colored pencil art, sheep and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment