Finally Back. Hopefully for Good.

Imagine.  I have not talked to you since June!  So much has happened it is no wonder I have not been blogging!

My daughter and son-in-law bought a fixer-upper a block from us.  It has taken time and love to begin the process of buying and improving the house so that possibly they can move into it next summer.  They visited for three weeks during August and there was a whirlwind of work done.

My younger daughter was married in early September on the beach in North Carolina.  While the bride and groom did all the work of planning and implementing the wedding (which was absolutely Beautiful!), there was energy spent in getting our clothing together and travelling to be part of the joy.  We had a great time and loved every moment.

Then there was the typical work around the house and gardens and campsite.  Needless to say, we have been hopping!

But now, with fall on the doorstep, things are calming down.  I have missed talking to you and look forward to sharing bits of my life with you again.

I have decided to add a new section to Recipes I Love to share some of my Family Recipes with you.  My Mom was a phenomenal cook.  She grew up in the Depression years as part of a large family so a number of her recipes are very cost effective yet delicious.

Tonight, we had her Potato Soup with Rivels.

IMG_20130913_170228

 

My mother’s family was very German.  My grandparents spoke German when they did not want us to know what they were saying.  They lived in Findlay, Ohio and had many family members around them.  My daughter has found that a number of generations of the families are closely entwined.  My Grandfather was Oliver Arras and my Grandmother, Clara Smith.

They had a big family to support during the Depression years but this recipe has German roots.  Rivels are dumplings in the soup that make it special.  They are basically eggs and flour and salt mixed together to form a soft dough that is dropped into the simmering soup to cook.

A rivel.  A small egg dumpling cooked in the soup.

A rivel. A small egg dumpling cooked in the soup.

This is a delicious and comforting soup for a cool evening meal.

Grandma Arras’s Potato Soup

3 large potatoes, cubed (I wash but do not peel the potatoes.  Grandma peeled them.)

1 medium onion, diced

1 t salt (more can be added)

1/2 t pepper

Grandma covered the diced potatoes with water and added the diced onion and salt then simmered until the potatoes were soft not mushy.  I simmer the potatoes in the salted water and saute the onions in a bit of oil or butter.

Grandma added the rivels to the potatoes, onions and salted water to simmer for 10 minutes.  I drain some of the water from the potatoes until there is just enough to cover the potatoes then add milk to make it soupy.  I heat this mixture and add the rivel dough when simmering and cook for 10 minutes.

Rivels

1 egg, beaten

1 c four (or slightly less)

2 T milk

1 t salt

Beat egg and milk together in a shallow bowl, put flour around edge of bowl.  With a fork stir gently to make a mixture that is still soft but spoonable.  Thicker than cake batter, thinner than bread batter.

Drop by Tablespoons full into the simmering soup to cook.

 

 

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finally Back. Hopefully for Good.

  1. Add homemade bread fresh out of the oven… ahhh.Nothing like a good starchy German meal. Now I’m thinking about noodles and mashed potatoes.

Leave a Reply

