Being Honest. Finally.

My sister and brother-in-law visited this weekend.  They mentioned that they missed my blog posts.

Sigh.

I thought about it.  I reflected.

I told them that I was torn about the blog.

I had originally established the blog to keep my loved ones in touch with what was happening in my life.

Now, there is a relatively (to me) large group of folks looking at the blog each day.  Way beyond loved ones.  I was worried about disclosing private matters beyond recipes. SO, I have to decide what I want the blog to be.  Popularity or Honesty.

I choose honesty.  I could go totally private in my settings, but I just choose to be anonymous.

My recipes are real and things that I love to cook and eat.  My daily activities are real.

But, I have been skirting around the elephant in the room.

The Bearded One has been diagnosed as Early Onset Dementia, maybe even Alzheimers.  We have been retired for 8 1/2  years but I suspected something was awry before we retired..  He has been fading a bit each year since then.

I have not wanted to talk about it.

Family close to us have known for several years.  It is enough of an issue that I have started to share with friends and some neighbors in the past year.  I know that there will be times that I will need help in the times to come.

It is still hard to face.  I do not want to think about what we will both probably need to face.  Eeek.

He is content.  I do not even think he realizes what is happening.  He talked to the remote control today and changed channels on the phone.  Humor is a wonderful thing to rely upon….

I am content too.  Meditation to turn off the yammering of the mind has been a blessing.  Living in the moment is important and wonderful.

Now, I am sharing with you.  Life is still wonderful.

Enjoy your moments.

 

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in alzheimers, dementia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being Honest. Finally.

  1. FYI…I have talked to the remote and changed channels with the phone. I laughed and then had a rather disconcerting moment. I am glad you find the humor…I am glad that you laugh. I am glad that you have contentment. I am glad you have chosen honesty.
    “It is what it is”. I think your honesty will be a light to many.

Leave a Reply

