Spooky

Tomorrow is Halloween but things got spooky around here yesterday.

Each year lately, I have drawn an original Christmas card using colored pencils.  I generally am not inspired until the deadline approaches in late October.  I will never learn.  It is the same this year.

I have generally drawn various ornaments over the years to be the cover of the card though there have been variations.  This year I decided to use my Teddy Bear.  His name is Pooh and he was a gift from my father nearly 50 years ago.  He has been well loved and shows his age as much as I.

poohPooh sits in his rocker in various outfits depending on the season.  The outfits cover his worn out fur and his clumsily stitched repairs.

Let me explain.  My family has long recognized that Pooh is more than a stuffed toy.  In fact, I shudder to use those words in the same sentence with Pooh’s name.  He has energy.  He has power.

He has been loved and treated with respect since he arrived under the Christmas tree nearly 50 years ago.  My dad was shopping with my mom at Woolworth’s and a teddy bear fell off the shelf and landed at his feet.  He knew that the bear had elected to be my Christmas gift.

Pooh has slept with a teenage girl and later college coed for year.  He has been given sips of beer by her father until the felt of his mouth rotted and her mother had to sew his mouth closed.  His glued on eyes have broken and fallen off to be replace by large buttons.

He has watched graduations, jobs, marriages and children come and go over the years.  He watched over an aging man struggle with MS and his wife with cancer.  He watched and loved them through their passings.

Now, he sits and watches Grandchildren run through the room sometimes stopping to gaze into his eyes and wonder.  He gives them love but tells them silently that he is to old to give anything but gentle hugs anymore.

It is this bear that I decided to make the centerpiece of this year’s Christmas card.  But I wanted to take the reference photo with him looking more like a classic Teddy.  I wanted him without his outfit.

The bear whispered to me that he was not comfortable with the idea when I was stripping off his shirt and pants.  He said, “uh uh” when I placed his nakedness back in his rocking chair.

Then I couldn’t find my cameras.  I searched everywhere.  For an hour.  FINALLY, I found them in a place I never put them.

I set up the photo and tried to shoot.  The lens of both cameras were fogged.

FINALLY, one of the lens cleared.  The batteries died before the picture could be taken.

I replaced the batteries.  Still dead.  I warmed the batteries and FINALLY had power.

I promised The Bear I would be sensitive.  I took a large number of photos.

The next day I selected a photo and sent it to the printer.  Nothing but a blank sheet.  For two days, I periodically sent the picture to the printer with the same result.  Nada.  I printed something else.  Yep, I needed a new cartridge but SOMETHING appeared not just the blank sheet that spit out when I sent The Bear’s photo.

FINALLY, the picture appeared.  Today, I began the drawing.  Coming along although I know at any moment it may spontaneously combust if The Bear is not happy with it….

 

 

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in colored pencil, colored pencil art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spooky

  1. overhaulamy says:

    Loved reading this and am looking forward to the final art and the card. He was probably just making sure you thoroughly understood the sensitive nature of the images

    I loved seeing his image here, too, I haven’t seen him for years. I guess that means I need to visit more often! I’ll try when you get back next summer, I promise.

    Love you!!!

  2. alamourofbarrington says:

    I can’t WAIT for my Christmas card! In fact I may order a box of my own.

    I never knew that Pooh had dropped from a shelf at Dad’s feet….in fact I am having difficulty picturing Dad shopping at all….what I remember is that he used to send us racing into JC Penny late on Christmas Eve to purchase the traditional PJ’s for mom. (Remember the tomato!)

    I might add that you used the word “power” loosely. The POOH BEAR WHAMMY was indeed the subject for an entirely separate blog–possibly several.

  3. alamourofbarrington says:

    Reblogged this on Letter From Granma and commented:
    Pooh “The Bear” was a member of our family. He arrived at Christmas, a gift for Jan. Over the years he became “real”. Jan tells us about Pooh in her blog today, but I don’t know if Jan even knew how much impact that this little guy had on me and Pappa Don and on your Dad and Auntie Amy. So loved….I can’t wait for my Christmas Card!

  4. Pingback: The Legacy of Pooh | Letter From Granma

Leave a Reply

