Jack of All Trades, Master of Some.

How did we survive without the internet?  We have a large library of books, many do-it-yourself references but the internet is my first resource these days.

I am good at cooking and cleaning and laundry and gardening.  I have relied on my husband for car care, rv care, and tool use and maintenance.

Now that his memory is fading, I am increasingly called upon to take care of these things.

I have learned to use some power tools and am looking forward to using a few more. I can use a circular saw, a drill, a miter saw.   I am  lousy at hammering and will never be skilled at driving nails.  I have ordered a cordless nail gun.  Yippee.

Taking care of the cars is still a challenge.  Luckily we have a mechanic we can trust nearby.  I can keep track of when the oil needs to be changed and when the check engine light comes on.  (The other day a light I had never seen before appeared.  I pulled over tho check the manual.  It was the tire inflation light…never knew there was such a thing.  I put air in the tires and all was well.  BTW, can you believe you can use a credit card in the air machine at the gas station?  I remember when air was FREE!)  I do not know how to judge whether tires need to be replaced.  That is something I will need to research.

Hence, the internet.  I have researched how to winterize the trailer and camper,  how to drywall, how to lay flooring, etc., etc., etc..  I have read articles and watched Youtube videos of handyfolks doing their thing.  With their support, I have gained confidence and some skills.  I have repaired a broken water heater.  I replaced the drive belt and blade on a lawn mower.

Thank you, internet, for making life easier.  Sigh.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jack of All Trades, Master of Some.

  1. alamourofbarrington says:

    Any dashboard light puts fear and trembling in my heart….however I have come to recognize the tire inflation light. It routinely appears when it gets really cold or really warm. My light went on just before our trip to Ohio…of course the coldest weekend of the fall to date.

Leave a Reply

