Blaming It on the Lack of Legos in My Childhood

I had building blocks as a child.  I had wooden blocks.  They were well used.

I also had building bricks.  They were not made of plastic.  I have no clue of their composition.  But they had the shape of a shallow brick.  We had a great time building with them. blocks

I NEVER had nearly this many blocks.  But I could build some of the first level.  We used to have marbles be the “people”.  A small block could be a chair since the four pegs could stabilize the marble so it could sit.  We spent hours building with those blocks.  There were no blueprints for them though.

Hence my issue today.

I have spent hours building with Legos with my Grandsons.  I can build a rudimentary house or store or chair for marble.  But Legos come with directions to build a Space Shuttle or the Evil Whatsamajiggy Space Planet from Star Wars or …. you get it.  The boys can follow those blue prints.  Me, not so much.  At least, not without major effort.

Move to adult pursuits.  My daughter and son-in-law bought a foreclosure near us.  It needs major work.  They gutted the kitchen and are replacing the cabinets with Ikea cabinets.

Aw.  You are getting my drift, aren’t you.  Particularly if you are over 50.

I tried to help when they were here putting the kitchen together in a brief 5 day blitz.  No problem with most of the work.  My major assistance was taking care of the Grandkids while they worked.  I can do that.

At one point though, I took on assembling the pull out carousel for a corner base cabinet.  The directions are 24 pages long.  I did it though and, with some help from Son-in-law, it went into the cabinet readily.  YeeHaw!

They put the doors on the cabinets and left for home for a few months.

ikea pullout

Some time later, I was admiring progress while working around the house.  Eek!  The shelf rotated but could not pull out!  It hit the hinge and stuck!  Yikes!

I Googled.  Lots of folks commented on the problem in 2009 but the issue seemed to have been resolved.  Was the kit an old one or was I an old one?

I looked it over today.  Ikea seems to be cleared.  Me, not so much.  It turns out, I think, that the assembly directions are 24 pages long.  Surprisingly, to me, at some point in the tome , the directions change from a right hand opening to a left hand opening.

Yikes.  I assembled one shelf backwards or upside down or both.

Eeek.

girl legos

If I had had Legos as a little girl, this would not be an issue today.

Now, do I practice with Legos or Ikea kits….

 

 

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in grandchildren and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

